By using our website, you agree to the use of our cookies.
By using our website, you agree to the use of our cookies.


The South-West, also known as one of the six geopolitical zones of Nigeria, represents both a geographic and political region of the country’s southwestern region. Comprising of six states – Ekiti, Lagos, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, and Oyo, this zone stretches along the Atlantic seaboard, starting from the international border with the Benin Republic in the west and extending to the South-South in the east, with the North-Central region to the north.

The South-West is characterized by the Central African mangroves in the southern coast, and the Nigerian lowland forests in the south and east, along with the Guinean forest-savanna mosaic in the drier northwest. The weather conditions in the region vary between the two distinct seasons in Nigeria – the rainy season (March-November) and the dry season (November-February), with the latter also bringing the Harmattan dust from the northern deserts.

The South-West region is culturally dominated by the Yorubaland, the indigenous cultural homeland of the Yoruba people, who constitute the largest ethnic group in the southwestern population.

Economically, the urban areas of the South-West, mainly the cities of Lagos and Ibadan, contribute significantly to the Nigerian economy, while the rural areas lag behind. The region has a population of about 47 million people, accounting for around 22% of the total population of the country. Lagos, the most populous city in the South-West, is also the most populous city in Nigeria and the second most populous city in Africa.

The metropolis and its inner suburbs, together called the Lagos Metropolis Area, form the eighth-largest metropolitan area in the world with around 21 million people. Other large southwestern cities include Ibadan, Ogbomosho, Ikorodu, Akure, Abeokuta, Oyo, Ifẹ, Ondo City, Ado Ekiti, Iseyin, Sagamu, Badagry, Ilesa, Obafemi Owode, Osogbo, Ikare and Owo.

Check for the postal codes under each of these states below by clicking on them:

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked